Where my Heart Belongs

 In my tiny life I have tasted of fear.

And as of late, I know what it is to be angry.

I have fought back many a tear.

And I have smelled the wildflowers in bloom.

It is true, I have been an icy storm.

And who can count the lost lives?

I am locked away in a dorm.

I assume I own a glass heart.

Which leads me to question, is it glass?

But mostly I wonder, is it missing entirely?

Of course I  speculate, does it grow like wild grass?

I know not where my heart belongs.

In my infinite past I have lived a life of fears.

Indeed, I have born the flames of hatred.

And looking back, I have shed many tears.

And now I ask, but where will I be tomorrow?

It seems over the years I have changed.

Perhaps my changes are for the better;

Views and opinions have been exchanged.

But, have I really changed in good ways?

With whom can my secrets be entrusted?

It seems I am closed off to humanity;

My dreams evade my grasp and end up busted.

Leaving me to question my intentions.

Must I ask of you, who can save them?

Which leads me to ponder, did even I ever hold them?

Perhaps they will come to me at the end of this stem.

And if they should run, I shall chase them.

But of course they will run to the place my heart belongs.

I must ask myself daily, where exactly is that?

It surely must reside in the heart of all these songs.

And daily I come to this same conclusion.

Of course, all these songs share the same chorus;

And their melodies taste of a place I call home.

In this place they are all waiting for us.

And in this place I have Locked away my heart.

Leave a comment